A Note About Group View Permissions
The Group drop-down menus on the Permissions Setup and Users/Groups Setup screens are filtered by security permissions so that users can only assign permissions to groups to which they have access.
This means:
-
Users cannot create or see users for a group with different segment permissions than their own.
-
Users cannot see groups with different segment permissions than their own.
Consider this scenario for further explanation of these permissions:
-
The Administrators group has access to segments Facilities, Biomed, IT, and EVS.
-
The Power Users group has access to only segments Facilities, Biomed, and IT.
-
The Users group has access to only segments Facilities, Biomed, and EVS.
-
The Technicians group has access to only one segment - Facilities.
In this scenario:
-
The Administrators group and its users can see all other groups and users who are members of those groups.
-
The Power Users group and its users can only see Power Users and Technicians, and users who are members of those groups.
-
The Users group and its users can only see Users and Technicians, and users who are members of those groups.
-
The Technicians group and its users can only see their own group and members of that group.