Apply Security to Uploaded Documents and Links
When you upload a new document or link via Document Upload, you have the ability to specify which users can view the item. By default, a new item that is uploaded is accessible by all users. You need to set the security manually after you upload the document.
To apply security to documents and links, follow these steps:
-
Upload a document to an asset
-
Find the asset by clicking Assets and then Edit and entering the asset information in the dialog box
-
On the Asset Edit screen click Document Upload
-
In the Document List click Asset
-
In the Document Managerclick New Document
-
Enter a Description of the document you are uploading and enter a File Name
-
Click Save
-
Click the Document Security lock icon
-
Click New
-
Select a User Group to apply security settings to from the drop-down menu. This information is required
-
If there is a specific user you want to apply security settings to, select the user from the drop-down menu
-
Next, select the security setting to apply to this group or user.
You must have at least one user with Full security permissions on an uploaded item before limited or zero access settings can be applied.
-
Click Save to apply this setting, or Another to apply this setting and add another security setting.
to add another repeat steps 9 and 10.
-
All other users in the system will now not have access until you add them to this list