Purchasing Status Change Authorizations
Using the Setup module, you can control who has the ability to change the Status and Sub Status of purchase orders. There are certain rules that apply to Status Change Authorizations.
-
If there are no users in the Status Change Authorization table, then all users in all segments can change any purchase order Status and Sub Status code.
-
Once a record is added to the Status Change Authorization table, then that Status and Sub Status code is restricted for all other users in that segment, unless they are added to the Status Change Authorization table for that segment and Status and Sub Status code.
-
When you add a new status change entry for a segment and add a Status or Sub Status code that doesn't have an entry, TMS displays a message to warn you that all users will be restricted from changing a purchase order to that segment, Status, and Sub status.
To add a new purchasing status change authorization, follow these steps.
-
From the Setup menu, go to Purchasing > Status Change Authorizations.
-
Select the segment from the Segment list.
-
In the Status Change Authorizations area, click New.
The New Status Change Authorization pop-up window opens.
-
From the User ID drop-down menu, select a name.
-
From the Status drop-down menu, select the status.
-
From the Sub Status drop-down menu, select the sub status.
If you selected a Status of Issued for the new status change authorization in step 5 above, then you have the option of completing the Approval Limit field. In the Approval Limit field, enter the dollar amount that the user is authorized to approve. If the purchase order exceeds the dollar amount that is entered here, then the user in step 4 above must get approval from a manager or supervisor. For example, if the Approval Limit for Will Shakespeare is $1,000, and Will tries to change the status of a purchase order for $1,001 TMS won't let them.
-
Click Save or click Another to add additional names to your status change authorization.
You receive a confirmation message.
-
Click OK.
Your status change authorization is added to the list.
The user you selected is now the only user who will be able to use this Status/Sub Status combination. If you want to add additional users to this Status Change Authorization, repeat steps 3 - 8.
Click the Delete button in the Status Change Authorization grid to delete a status change authorization.