Fullscreen Image

Set Disk Permissions

The permissions on TMS discussions can be customized.  Permissions can be set at the group level or user level.  By default, all users have Read Only access when a new discussion is created.  There are four permissions types:

  • No Access – the group and/or user will not have access to the discussion.

  • Read Only – the group and/or user will only be able to read the discussion, not post.

  • Reply Only – the group and/or user will only be able to reply to a post on the discussion.

  • Post and Reply – the group and/or user will be able to post and reply to a post on the discussion.

Add Permissions

To add permissions, follow these steps:

  1. Click the discussion in the Discussions tree.

  2. On the Security section, click New.

    The Security dialog box will appear.

  3. Select the User Group. 

    If we leave User Name blank, all users in the selected User Group will have these permissions.

  4. Select the permission type.

  5. Click Save.

Edit Permissions

To edit permissions, follow these steps:

  1. Click the discussion in the Discussions tree.

  2. Click Edit next to the security you wish to change.

  3. Change the User Group, User Name, and/or security type.

  4. Click OK.

Delete Permissions

To delete permissions, follow these steps:

  1. Click the discussion in the Discussions tree.

  2. Click Delete next to the security you wish to remove.  A confirmation dialog box will appear.

  3. Click OK.