Lock a Master Document
Locking a master document prevents it from being revised either directly by document workflow or indirectly by a project copy other than the one that is locking it. A locked master document may only be revised by the project copy from which the lock was placed.
A master document can be locked by either of two methods:
-
With the Create Project Copy and Lock command while creating a project copy as described in Create a Project Copy.
-
With the Lock Master Document command if the project copy has already been created without a lock as described in the following task.
-
Locking is recursive. This means that locking a master document will also lock any referenced documents. If locks on the references have been removed by other changes, you can refresh the locks by running this command again.
-
This command is only available if the Advanced Project Workflow Module has been enabled for the vault.
To lock a master document to an existing project copy in PowerWeb:
-
Choose one of the following options:
-
From the ribbon:
-
Select the project copy.
-
In the Project ribbon, in the Locks group, click Lock Master Document.
-
-
From the context menu:
-
Right-click the project copy.
-
Point to Project, point to Locks, and then click Lock Master Document.
-
-
From the Thumbnails view:
-
Right-click the thumbnail of the project copy.
-
Point to Project, point to Locks, and then click Lock Master Document.
-
-