Create And Edit Roles
A role is a named group of users or Accruent groups to which you assign permission levels for particular repository items. By default, Meridian Enterprise Server includes some recommended roles that you can use:
-
Default
-
Project Manager
-
Document Controller
-
Reviewer
-
Contributor
These names were chosen because they best represent the actions and permissions that are available in a repository and the design of Meridian Enterprise Server. Because these roles do not have any permission levels assigned to them by default, you can determine what actions they can perform in the repository. They are just a starting point. You can delete them and create other roles if you want to.
To create or edit a role:
-
In Meridian Enterprise Server Administration Console, in the Repositories group, click Repositories.
The All Repositories page appears and lists the existing Meridian Explorer repositories and Meridian Enterprise vaults.
-
Double-click the name of the repository that you want to configure.
-
In the menu, click Management Tools.
The management tools for the selected repository appear.
-
In the Security group, for the Security item, click Manage.
The Global permissions page appears.
-
Click User Roles.
The User Roles page appears and lists the existing roles.
-
Choose between two options:
-
Click options or type values using the descriptions in the following table.
Role options
|
Name
|
Type a descriptive name for the role. If this role will be in addition to the default roles, make the name compatible with the default role names.
|
|
Description
|
Type a detailed description of the role for reference by System Administrators.
|
-
Click OK.
If you created a new role, the new role is added to the list.
To delete a role:
-
In Meridian Enterprise Server Administration Console, in the Repositories group, click Repositories.
The All Repositories page appears and lists the existing Meridian Explorer repositories and Meridian Enterprise vaults.
-
Double-click the name of the repository that you want to configure.
-
In the menu, click Management Tools.
The management tools for the selected repository appear.
-
In the Security group, for the Security item, click Manage.
The Global permissions page appears.
-
Click User Roles.
The User Roles page appears and lists the existing roles.
-
Select the name of the role that you want to delete and in the toolbar, click Remove.
The role is deleted.