Security Groups
Accruent Space Intelligence users who want to configure building and details, or manage users, require specific permissions. To grant these permissions, add users to security groups and configure the necessary groups and permissions.
To view security groups configuration options, go to Configure > Security groups.
The Security groups page includes the following:
-
Search: Type in at least 3 characters to find an existing security group.
-
Create security group: Create a new security group.
-
Name: The name of the security group.
-
Pagination: Use the left or right arrows at the bottom of the grid to navigate through pages or select a specific page number. To adjust the number of entries displayed per page, click 25 per page and select a higher or lower number to show (10, 25, 50, or 100).
Create security groups
We create your initial administrator account and security group by default. Create additional security groups and assign permissions as needed. For instance, you might create a group for users who can change facility settings but not user settings.
-
Go to Configure > Security groups.
-
Click Create security group.
-
Enter the group name and description, then click Create.
The Security group page opens.
-
In Permissions, click Update.
A list of permissions opens. Each permission provides the following:
-
facilities_admin: Allows you to add, update, and remove facility details. Use this permission to manage all information related to facilities.
-
users_admin: Gives you the ability to create, edit, and manage user accounts and security settings. Use this permission to control who can access the system and what they can do.
-
-
Select each permission you want to add to the group and click Update.
-
In Users, click Update.
-
A list of users opens.
-
Select each user you want to add to the group and click Update.
Delete a security group
Remove security groups that are no longer necessary. First, remove any users included in the group, and then delete the security group.
-
In the Security Groups list, click a group name.
-
In the users section, click Edit.
-
Clear each user you want to remove from the group and click Update.
-
On the group page, click Remove group.
-
In the confirmation dialog, click Delete.
Revoke permissions from a group
Revoke permissions from a group when a group's permissions need adjustments or roles within the group change.
-
Click Configure > Security Groups.
-
In the Security Group list click the group name.
-
In Permissions, click Update.
A list of permissions assigned to the security group opens.
-
Clear each permission you want to remove from the group and click Update.
Remove users from a group
Remove users from a group when an employee departs or switch roles.
-
Click Configure > Security Groups.
-
In the Security Group list click the group name from which you want to remove users.
-
In Users, click Update.
A list of users assigned to the security group opens.
-
Clear each user you want to remove from the group and click Update.